Virginia rideshare accident lawyers
As the popularity of rideshare apps grows, so do the number of rideshare drivers. While Virginia requires that all rideshare drivers be given comprehensive background checks before being hired, that doesn’t mean every rideshare driver will operate a vehicle responsibly.
We at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys know all too well the damages that distracted or reckless rideshare drivers can cause. If you or a loved one have been injured in a rideshare accident (either as a passenger, pedestrian, or in another vehicle), you deserve justice and compensation. Contact our Virginia rideshare accident lawyers today and see why we’re the right law firm to handle your case.
It can be difficult to know whose insurance should pay for what in a rideshare accident. Generally speaking, all rideshare drivers are required to have auto insurance. Uber and Lyft also provide an insurance policy for their drivers. However, the amount of compensation offered to an injured person changes depending on certain circumstances:
- Tier 1: The rideshare app is off, and the driver is not working. In this case, the driver’s personal insurance applies for an accident.
- Tier 2: The rideshare app is on, and the driver is waiting for a ride request. Uber and Lyft then provide a maximum of $50,000 for bodily injury per person, which has a maximum of $100,000 per accident. These companies also give a maximum of $25,000 for property damage.
- Tier 3: The rideshare app is on, and the driver is either on their way to pick up a customer or is driving a customer to their destination. In this case, Lyft and Uber provide a $1 million liability policy to all those involved.
Liability is difficult to determine without knowing the facts of the case. Every claim is different, so no one answer can apply to all. However, both the driver and the company can be held liable for an accident, depending on the circumstances. If the rideshare driver was negligent, such as if they were looking at their cellphone or were inebriated or speeding, they would be liable for the damages they caused. If the company was negligent in how they hired the driver, perhaps by not giving a proper background check or by allowing a known repeat offender to continue to drive, then they may be held liable.
Virginia cares about the safety of its citizens and those who visit here. Rideshare companies are not always held to the same standard as similar services such as taxis. However, laws have started to pass in the last few years to change that, especially in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Rideshare companies that operate in the Commonwealth must:
- Purchase an operation license for $100,000
- Give all potential drivers comprehensive background checks
- Make sure all drivers are at least 21 years of age
- Provide insurance that covers up to $1 million in damages in the case of an accident
If a rideshare does not meet these basic standards in Virginia, they can be considered negligent and even liable in an accident involving one of their drivers.
Rideshare accidents are like most other car accidents. Meaning, they are traumatizing and can leave you severely injured. The most common injuries in vehicle accidents are:
- Spinal injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBI)
- Broken or fractured bones
- Amputation or loss of limb
- Burn injuries
- Skull fracture
- Internal damage
- Compartment syndrome
- Wrongful death
If you’ve been involved in a Virginia rideshare accident, you’re likely feeling stressed and frightened. Filing a personal injury claim may be the last thing on your mind. We understand that. But injuries like the ones listed above can mean high medical bills, extensive treatment to include physical therapy, lost wages, pain and suffering, and psychological trauma. You can’t turn back the clock and prevent the accident from happening, but you certainly shouldn’t have to pay for someone else’s negligence and poor decisions.
With our years of experience and background, we at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys know insurance companies, and we know courtrooms. After all, John Singleton worked for large insurance companies, and both he and Ken Gibson have tried countless cases. Together, this all means that we will take every step necessary to ensure that you get the compensation you deserve.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a rideshare accident, call us at (804) 413-6777 for a free consultation with a Virginia car accident lawyer. We want to fight for you. Contact us today so that we can put a plan into action.
It costs you nothing for our firm to represent you. We only get paid when you do. Learn more
Prevention, empathy, and diligence are hallmarks of everything we do at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys. Our community can see these ideals lived out in our work to prevent personal injuries from happening.
- Safety Education
GibsonSingleton launches “Texts=Wrecks” campaign to reduce the number of people injured or killed by distracted drivers.
- Annual Coat Drive
During the fall, our team works to distribute coats to people in need in our community.
- Hands-on Service
John and Ken join the Gloucester Point Rotary Club in cleaning up the community.
- Supporting Local Schools
The Gibson family participates in Gloucester’s Botetourt Elementary Shuffle fundraiser.