Virginia hit-and-run accident attorneys
Did another driver hit you and flee? We want to help you recover.
In Virginia, everyone who is involved in a traffic accident is required to notify law enforcement, remain at the scene until law enforcement arrives, and lend aid to anyone injured in the accident. If a person does not, it is a crime known as "Failure to Report an Accident" - also known as a hit-and-run accident.
While most of us can’t imagine abandoning an injured person on the side of the road, hit-and-runs happen all the time.
If someone is injured in a traffic accident, the person who caused the accident (and their insurance company) is typically liable for the cost of any injuries. However, when an at-fault driver flees the scene, the injured victim faces unique challenges when trying to recover money for medical expenses and property loss.
If you or a loved one is injured by a hit-and-run driver in Gloucester, you should contact an experienced personal injury lawyer right away. The sooner we can investigate what happened, the better for you.
Our legal team at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys is dedicated to preventing accidents from happening through community education. But when an accident occurs, we consider it a calling to help injury victims. Call us for a free case evaluation at (804) 413-6777. There’s no obligation, and you’ll at least find out all your options.
Does a driver have to stop after a collision in Virginia?
Yes. If a driver hits an "unattended vehicle," he must make a reasonable attempt to contact the owner. If he can’t do that, he must leave a note with his driver’s license number and contact information, and "report the accident in writing within 24 hours to the State Police or the local law-enforcement agency," according to Virginia Code §46.2-896.
If someone is involved in an accident that caused injury, the driver must immediately stop "as close to the scene as possible without obstructing traffic," and give his or her information to the police, the injured person, or any other person involved in the accident. The driver must also give reasonable assistance to the injured person, including taking that person to a hospital if requested. Under Virginia Code §46.2-894, failing to do this - fleeing the scene of an accident in which someone is injured or property damage is greater than $1,000 - is a Class 5 felony.
What about a passenger?
Believe it or not, passengers in a vehicle also have a duty to report an accident if the driver does not. Any passenger over the age of 16 has a duty to report the accident and the driver’s information to the State Police or local law enforcement within 24 hours, or risk being charged with a crime under Virginia Code §46.2-895.
What options do you have as a hit-and-run victim?
In a best-case scenario, the driver that injured you will have adequate insurance and be apprehended by law enforcement. You can then file a claim to seek compensation from their insurance company, and you may be able to file a lawsuit against that person directly as well.
Unfortunately, in most cases, the hit-and-run driver is never caught. This scenario leaves you with no other choice but to seek compensation from your own insurance company through your uninsured motorist policy. But your insurer may not be eager to pay. Your insurance company may deny your claim; delay paying your claim; or offer you a payout that is less than adequate for your needs.
Why an experienced Virginia car accident lawyer can help
Skilled Gloucester attorneys, like our team at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys, have spent whole careers dealing with insurance companies - both as advocates and adversaries. We know the laws that govern the insurance industry, and we know how to handle uninsured motorist claims. To speak to a Middle Peninsula lawyer who wants to help you recover financially, call (804) 413-6777 or toll-free at (855) 781-6777 for a free consultation. We offer a Zero Fee Guarantee.
- How important is uninsured motorist coverage in Virginia?
- Hit-and-Run Crashes: Prevalence, Contributing Factors and Countermeasures - AAA
- Hit-and-Run Deaths Are Way Up: How Dangerous Is Your State?
Call our Eastern Virginia office today for a free consultation
at (804) 413-6777 or toll free (855) 781-6777.
It costs you nothing for our firm to represent you. We only get paid when you do. Learn more
Prevention, empathy, and diligence are hallmarks of everything we do at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys. Our community can see these ideals lived out in our work to prevent personal injuries from happening.
- Safety Education
GibsonSingleton launches “Texts=Wrecks” campaign to reduce the number of people injured or killed by distracted drivers.
- Annual Coat Drive
During the fall, our team works to distribute coats to people in need in our community.
- Hands-on Service
John and Ken join the Gloucester Point Rotary Club in cleaning up the community.
- Supporting Local Schools
The Gibson family participates in Gloucester’s Botetourt Elementary Shuffle fundraiser.