Lawyers for drunk driving accident lawsuits in Virginia
If you were hit by a drunk driver, we can help.
Virginia’s penalties for drunk driving are some of the harshest in the country. Despite this, DUI (driving under the influence) accidents still occur - and often, here in the Commonwealth.
More than 8,000 alcohol-related crashes happened in Virginia in 2013 alone, resulting in more than 5,200 injuries and 250 deaths. In 2016, the number dropped to 7,500. Better, but not good enough!
We at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys are always deeply saddened when a client comes in who has been hurt or had a family member hurt or killed by a drunk driver.
That’s why we do our best to reach out to share helpful information and educate people in our community. We want to keep you out of Riverside Walter Reed Hospital - or another hospital in our area if an accident can be prevented.
But we always want you to know that you have rights. If you were injured or lost a loved one in an accident caused by a drunk driver, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses.
To find out more about filing a personal injury or wrongful death claim against a drunk driver, call us at (804) 413-6777. We’ll meet with you for free, and we won’t pressure you to file a lawsuit. If you choose to hire a Virginia auto accident attorney at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys, we only collect our fees if we achieve a successful outcome in your case. That’s our no-fee guarantee.
How can I avoid drunk drivers in Eastern Virginia?
We wish we could tell you. Though normal traffic accidents spike in October and November in Virginia, drunk driving accidents stay steady all year round.
In Gloucester County alone, 50 alcohol-related crashes happened in 2015, the last time data was available. We can tell you that in the last few years, most of them took place on Route 17.
Is there anything you can do? Yes, here are some common-sense tips for protecting yourself from drunk drivers on the road:
- Buckle your seat belt!
- Don’t drive late at night.
- Be especially careful on "drinking holidays" like Fourth of July, St. Patrick’s Day, and New Year’s Eve.
- Keep a safe distance between yourself and other vehicles.
- If you see a vehicle driving strangely, get away from it. Pull over and call the police to report the suspicious behavior.
Always promote sober driving among your friends and relatives, and do NOT tolerate any attempts to drink and drive. Remember, it could be your loved ones on the road with them.
If I’m involved in wreck with a drunk driver, won’t he or she already be punished?
If police come to the scene of your accident, they can test the other driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Any amount over 0.08 percent means a criminal charge of DUI against that driver. That case will be handled in criminal court, and a drunk driver faces up to 12 months in jail if convicted. Although Virginia does require that a convicted drunk driver pay fines up to $2,500, that money will not go to help you, the victim.
To get the money you need to recover, you’ll have to file a claim in civil court.
A DUI personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit is similar to a regular car accident claim, but with a big exception. In both cases, you can be awarded compensation for medical bills, lost wages, permanent injury, funeral and burial expenses, loss of love and companionship, and more.
However, in a drunk driving lawsuit, you can also be awarded punitive damages. Punitive damages are meant to not only punish the drunk driver, but also to send a message to the community that such reckless behavior will not be tolerated.
When are punitive damages handed out?
If the intoxicated driver has a BAC of .15 percent or higher, a judge or jury can award punitive damages. Punitive damages can also be awarded if the intoxicated driver refused to take a sobriety test after the accident. Punitive damages are a big issue in Virginia DUI accident lawsuits, due to the high cap on the amount that can be awarded: $350,000. Another advantage of punitive damages is that they cannot be removed by the defendant filing for bankruptcy.
If you or a family member has been involved in an accident with a drunk driver, we are very sorry, and we understand what you’re going through. No one should have to live through that nightmare.
If you need help, the legal team at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys will listen to the details of your case and give you free advice. If you want us to help you, we can do that too. To schedule your free consultation, call (804) 413-6777.
Recent Auto Accident Case Results
- $600,000 Compensation - Man was killed in a drunk driving crash and wife sustained injuries in the accident.
$100,000 compensation - Man was injured when his vehicle was struck by a drunk driver.
See more case results here.
- Law partners Gibson, Singleton oppose each other in drunk driving “mock sentencing trial” for Middlesex teen
- Drunk driving IS reckless driving for teens
- Buzzed driving is drunk driving: Tips for driving safely during the holidays
- Sobering Facts: Drunk Driving in VIRGINIA
It costs you nothing for our firm to represent you. We only get paid when you do. Learn more
Prevention, empathy, and diligence are hallmarks of everything we do at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys. Our community can see these ideals lived out in our work to prevent personal injuries from happening.
- Safety Education
GibsonSingleton launches “Texts=Wrecks” campaign to reduce the number of people injured or killed by distracted drivers.
- Annual Coat Drive
During the fall, our team works to distribute coats to people in need in our community.
- Hands-on Service
John and Ken join the Gloucester Point Rotary Club in cleaning up the community.
- Supporting Local Schools
The Gibson family participates in Gloucester’s Botetourt Elementary Shuffle fundraiser.