Virginia Motorized bike accident lawyers
E-bikes are fun, and recent advances in technology make them more efficient and affordable. They are a convenient way to commute, get around town, or experience the great outdoors.
For the most part, Virginia state and local laws governing Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes are the same as they are for regular bicycles.
Before allowing your child to ride an e-bike, it’s important to check e-bike instructions and follow the age requirements from the manufacturer.
At GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys, we encourage outdoor activities, and both of our partners, Ken Gibson and John Singleton, enjoy cycling with our families. But we know that accidents can happen, and often, they could have been prevented if the responsible driver had exercised reasonable care.
If you or your loved one is injured in an accident involving an e-bike or another vehicle, we bring a combination of small-town values and big-city experience to help you get the money you need to get better and take care of your family. GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys has recovered damages in settlements and lawsuits for our friends and neighbors in Virginia.
To learn more about how we can help you, give our Virginia personal injury lawyers a call today at (804) 413-6777. We are always glad to sit down with you and go over your options for free. You won’t owe us anything unless we win your case. We call it our Zero Fee Guarantee.
An e-bike (electric power-assisted bicycle) is a vehicle with three or fewer wheels, a seat, pedals, and an electric motor. All e-bikes in Virginia must have a visible label provided by the manufacturer that includes the vehicle’s classification number, assisted top speed, and wattage power.
Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes have a motor limit of 750 watts, and their motors won’t continue to assist the vehicle when it’s traveling faster than 20 mph. Class 3 e-bikes have motors larger than 750 watts and continue to increase speed beyond 20 mph. It is illegal to modify an e-bike to allow it to travel faster than designed by the manufacturer.
Riders must be at least 14 years old to ride a Class 3 e-bike in Virginia.
Like bicycles, e-bike riders can ride on the sidewalk, unless prohibited by local ordinances. E-bike riders must follow the same rules that bicycles do, including:
- Give proper signals when stopping or turning.
- Helmets must be worn for riders 14 and under.
- A white front headlight must be visible at a distance of 500 feet.
- A red reflector must be visible from a distance of 600 feet.
- Riders must stay to the right unless passing another bike, moving to turn, avoiding a hazard, or if the lane is too narrow to share with a motor vehicle.
E-bike riders must take precautions, ride defensively, and obey all traffic laws. But e-bike riders have the same rights as everyone else on the road. Virginia has a three-foot passing law – meaning drivers are required to give riders at least three feet of space when passing a bike or e-bike.
The biggest threat to e-bike riders is unsafe drivers. Frequent causes of e-bike injuries include:
- Distracted drivers
- Intoxicated drivers
- People who run traffic lights and stop signs
- Drivers who fail to look out for bicycles when changing lanes
- Drivers who make unsafe turns
- Equipment failure
E-bikes are allowed in most places where you can ride a regular bicycle, such as roads, bike lanes, and state and locally-controlled bike paths, but there are some exceptions. For example, Creeper Trail doesn’t permit e-bikes. You are allowed to ride e-bikes on bike trails in National Parks, but e-bikes may be restricted in National Forests.
Some of the fun places to ride e-bikes in Virginia include:
- Beaverdam Park
- Bridge Loop
- James Ridgeway River Heritage
- Huckleberry Trail
- Virginia Capital Trail
- New River Trail
- Belle Isle State Park
- High Bridge Trail
If you or a loved one is injured while riding an e-bike, the e-bike accident lawyers at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys can investigate your accident and file a claim or a lawsuit against anyone whose careless behavior contributed to your injuries. If the other side isn’t willing to make a reasonable offer, our experienced trial lawyers are always prepared to go to court.
A claim that our attorneys file after a Virginia e-bike accident can include the following types of damages:
- Current and future medical treatment
- Time missed from work
- Emergency room treatment
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of earning capacity
- Medical devices
- Rehabilitation and occupational therapy
- Wheelchair access for home and auto
- Reduced quality of life
- Wrongful death
At GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys, we consider it a calling to help our clients get the resources they need to recover. We understand what you’re going through because both of our partners have been there ourselves. That’s why we bring excellence and empathy to every client.
Call our Virginia bike accident attorneys at (804) 413-6777 or toll-free at (855) 781-6777 to learn more today.
It costs you nothing for our firm to represent you. We only get paid when you do. Learn more
Prevention, empathy, and diligence are hallmarks of everything we do at GibsonSingleton Virginia Injury Attorneys. Our community can see these ideals lived out in our work to prevent personal injuries from happening.
- Safety Education
GibsonSingleton launches “Texts=Wrecks” campaign to reduce the number of people injured or killed by distracted drivers.
- Annual Coat Drive
During the fall, our team works to distribute coats to people in need in our community.
- Hands-on Service
John and Ken join the Gloucester Point Rotary Club in cleaning up the community.
- Supporting Local Schools
The Gibson family participates in Gloucester’s Botetourt Elementary Shuffle fundraiser.